Announcing our online “Autumn Rapidplay” (one game per week) – register by Sun 18 October!

NOTE: Entry deadline extended till 10pm on Wednesday 21 October!


Autumn Rapidplay 2020 – Entry now open at: [final deadline: 10pm on Wednesday 21 October]

Following the success of our Spring Rapidplay, the DCCA Online Club will be organising a new Autumn Rapidplay competition, starting at the end of October. This event will be a one-game-per-week Swiss tournament at a relaxed rapidplay time control of 25min + 10sec increment, with players agreeing a mutually convenient time during the week to play the game. The exact format and structure of the competition will depend on entry numbers, but the number of rounds is likely to be around six or seven. The controller / arbiter for the event will once again be international arbiter Tom Thorpe (“brfc” on

Registration for the Autumn Rapidplay is now open, and will close at 10pm on Wednesday 21 October 2020. To sign up, free of charge, simply fill in the short online entry form at:

(Please note that the games played in the competition will not be sent for ECF rating, but we still require your ECF code in order to verify your identity. Please also be sure to enter your new four-digit rating as given in the ECF’s October 2020 list – you can look this up at their new rating website,

Entries received (at 21 October)

Jack Rudd (2410), Barnstaple
Robin Moss (2275), Keswick
Paul O’Neill (2178), Exeter
Jon Underwood (2118), Seaton
Jos Haynes (2110), Exeter
Paul Hampton (2065), Seaton
Alan Brusey (2043), Newton Abbot
Christopher Archer-Lock (2005), Reading
Oliver Wensley (1975), Exmouth
Robert G Taylor (1960), Malpas (Gwent)
Adrian Pickersgill (1960), Eastbourne
Nick Butland (1953), Plymouth
Michael Marshall (1893 est), Exmouth
Brian Gosling (1885), Exmouth
James McDonnell (1885), Greater London
Andrew Frangleton (1833 est), Exeter
Martin Page (1833), Insurance
Darrell Watson (1833), Bourne End
Christopher Leeson (1810), Weymouth
Sean Pope (1788), Exeter
Peter Dimond (1735), Bath
Robert Oughton (1630), Barnstaple
Graham Bramley (1555 est), Teignmouth
John Dean (1548), Plymouth
John Stanier (1488), Devon
Trevor Hurt (1450), South Hams
Barbara Newcombe (1398), Exmouth
Graham Jones (1383), Barnstaple
Robert Kelso (1315), Barnstaple
Tim Fox (1293), Seaton