LATEST NEWS: Individual Blitz tournament on Sat 6 April 2024 (10am-12:15pm) at America Hall, Exeter

UPDATE (6 April 2024):

Many thanks to everyone who came to play in the Individual Blitz today at America Hall, prior to the DCCA Team Quickplay. We had a great turn-out, with 24 players from around the region competing.

The list of prize-winners appears below:

Overall winner: Stephen Meek (6.5/7) – £45

Runner-up: Aron Saunders (6/7) – £30

Best U2000 player: Joshua Blackmore (5/7) – £20

Best U1700 player: John Morrison / Helen Archer-Lock / Grant Daly (4/7) – £10 each


The original webpage (with pre-event information) is given below:
Fans of blitz chess will be pleased to hear that an Individual Blitz tournament will be taking place at America Hall in Exeter on the morning of Saturday 6 April 2024 (10am-12:15pm), prior to the DCCA Team Quickplay tournament (which takes place in the afternoon at the same venue – see here.)
The Individual Blitz tournament will run 10am-12:15pm (registration at 9:45am), and will comprise 7 rounds of fast chess at a time control of 5min+3sec increment for the game. The event will be managed via computer-generated pairings.
Entry is £5 (or £3 for juniors), and we are delighted to announce that 100% of entry fees will be redistributed as prizes. The exact prize structure will depend on entry numbers.
To register to play, simply send an email to – ideally by Sun 31 March 2024, please! (Early entries are appreciated.)
Note: We intend to make a prompt start at 10am, so please be sure to arrive by 9:45am to register. If you are also playing in the DCCA Team Quickplay in the afternoon, you may wish to bring along a packed lunch (although there is a convenience store located around 7 minutes’ walk from the venue).
The address of the venue is: America Hall (Pinhoe Community Centre), De La Rue Way, Pinhoe, Exeter, EX4 8PX.

Entries received [final update on 5 April 2024 – please get in touch if your name is unexpectedly missing!]

  • Helen Archer-Lock
  • Joshua Blackmore
  • Giles Body
  • Agnes Bosze
  • Alan Brusey
  • Peter Chaplin
  • Harvey Cooper
  • Grant Daly
  • Paul Hampton
  • Luke Honey
  • Trevor Hurt
  • Lewis Jackson
  • Raman Kumar
  • Will Lamerton
  • Reuben Medhurst
  • Stephen Meek
  • John Morrison
  • Gary Owen
  • Daniel Parcell
  • Tim Paulden
  • Wojtek Perek
  • Mike Richardt
  • Aron Saunders
  • Matt Spence
  • Reece Whittington
  • Ben Wilkinson
  • Pete Worthington


To return to the homepage, click here.
Photo: The spacious America Hall in Exeter – an ideal venue for chess.
We hope to host many more events here in the months and years ahead!