Individual Blitz tournament on Sat 25 Feb 2023 (10am-12:15pm) at America Hall, Exeter

UPDATE (25 Feb 2023):

Many thanks to everyone who came along to play in the Individual Blitz today at America Hall, prior to the DCCA Team Quickplay. We had a great turn-out, with 24 players from around the region competing.

The list of prize-winners appears below, and some photos will be added in due course!

Overall winner: GM John Nunn (6/7) – £45

Runner-up: Luke Honey (5.5/7) – £25

Best junior player: Aron Saunders (4/7) – £12

Best U2000 player: Pengxiao Zhu (4/7) – £12

Best U1600 player: Miles Howells (3.5/7) – £12



Fans of blitz chess will be pleased to hear that an Individual Blitz tournament will be taking place at America Hall in Exeter on the morning of Saturday 25 February 2023 (10am-12:15pm), prior to the DCCA Team Quickplay tournament (which takes place in the afternoon at the same venue – see here).
The Individual Blitz tournament will run 10am-12:15pm (registration at 9:45am), and will comprise 7 rounds of fast chess at a time control of 5min+3sec increment for the game. [Note: This time control has been lengthened slightly from that previously advertised.] The event will be managed by international arbiter Tom Thorpe via computer-generated pairings.
Entry is £5 (or £3 for juniors), and we are delighted to announce that 100% of entry fees will be redistributed as prizes. The exact prize structure will depend on entry numbers.
To register to play, simply send an email to – ideally by Tue 21 Feb, please!
Note: We intend to make a prompt start at 10am, so please be sure to arrive by 9:45am to register. If you are also playing in the DCCA Team Quickplay in the afternoon, you may wish to bring along a packed lunch (although there is a convenience store located around 7 minutes’ walk from the venue).
The address of the venue is: America Hall (Pinhoe Community Centre), De La Rue Way, Pinhoe, Exeter, EX4 8PX.

Entries received so far (at 24 Feb 2023) – if you wish to play but have not yet got in touch, please email by the end of today (Friday 24 Feb)

Paul Aston
Max Bennett
Giles Body
Alan Brusey
Caleb Caleshu
Peter Chaplin
Gilbert Csecs
Cameron Davis
Simon Drost
Oscar Garcia
Luke Garner
Paul Hampton
Luke Honey
Miles Howells
Aldrin Malibiran
Alexis Malibiran
Jeremy Menadue
Riley Moore
GM John Nunn
Toryn O’Dwyer
Tim Paulden
Jacek Pietrzycki
Maurice Richards
Lloyd Russell
Aron Saunders
John Weatherlake
Reece Whittington
Pengxiao Zhu

To return to the homepage, click here.
Photo: The spacious America Hall in Exeter – an ideal venue for chess.
We hope to host many more events here in the months and years ahead!